Democratic Candidates Win Big in Montgomery County

Photo | Courtesy of Marc Elrich Democratic candidate Marc Elrich (239,460 – 64.3 percent) easily won the county executive race over Unaffiliated candidate Nancy Floreen (71,394 – 19.2 percent) and Republican Robin Ficker (61,304 – 16.5 percent).

Photo | Courtesy of Marc Elrich
Marc Elrich (239,460 – 64.3 percent)
easily won the county executive race over
Unaffiliated candidate Nancy Floreen
(71,394 – 19.2 percent) and Republican
Robin Ficker (61,304 – 16.5 percent).

In Maryland, where Democratic voter registration (2,173,884) is twice that of Republican voter registration (1,008,369),  Republican Governor Larry Hogan defied odds and won re-election, defeating Democrat Ben Jealous by 13.3 percent.

The high statewide voter turnout of 55 percent, while helping many Democratic candidates down ballot, did not help Jealous who won only 3 of the 24 jurisdictions in the state.

The three jurisdictions won by Jealous over Hogan were Baltimore City (116,799 – 56,273), Montgomery County (205,098 – 169,025) and Prince George’s County (210,295 – 83,865). Statewide, Hogan (1,232,214 – 56.1 percent) beat Jealous (939,410 – 42.8 percent).

However, in Montgomery County, where Democratic voter registration is 390,400, Republican voter registration is 112,995 and Unaffiliated is 142,173, Democrats won big starting with Marc Elrich (239,460 – 64.3 percent) who easily won the county executive race over Unaffiliated candidate Nancy Floreen (71,394 – 19.2 percent) and Republican Robin Ficker (61,304 – 16.5 percent).

Lifelong Democrat Floreen entered the county executive race after Elrich narrowly defeated businessman David Blair in the primary election because she felt Elrich would be bad for business development in Montgomery County. After the election, Floreen said, “It was a great campaign, and I am so honored to have so many great supporters. I’ll be taking some time off before I move on to my next adventure.”

The nine-member County Council will be made up of all Democrats. There were no surprises in the Montgomery County At-Large (countywide) council races with the four Democratic candidates—Hans Riemer, Evan Glass, Gabe Albornoz and Will Jawando—all winning by a 3-1 margin over the Republican candidates. This is Riemer’s third term and because of term limits,
this will be his last term on the council.

In the other council races, in District 1 Democrat Andrew Friedson won, District 2 – Craig Rice (D), District 3 – Sidney Katz (D) who ran unopposed, District 4 – Nancy Navarro (D) who ran unopposed and District 5 – Tom Hucker (D) who also ran unopposed.

In other statewide races, incumbent Maryland Comptroller Peter Franchot (D) was reelected, winning 79.2 percent of the vote in Montgomery County and 71.7 percent across the state.

Incumbent Democratic Attorney General Brian Frosh (1,391,888 – 64.2 percent) beat Republican Craig Wolf (775,474 – 35.7 percent). Frosh received even an higher percentage in Montgomery County with 77.8 percent of the vote.

Democratic U.S. Senator Ben Cardin received 76.9 percent of the vote in Montgomery County and coasted to reelection over Republican Tony Campbell statewide with 64.3 percent to Campbell’s 30.9 percent.

Portions of Montgomery County encompass partial districts of three congressional seats and all three Democratic candidates won. In congressional District 3, incumbent Democrat John Sarbanes beat Charles Anthony (R) (68.8 percent to 28.6 percent). In District 6, David Trone (D) beat Amie Hoeber (R) (58.1 percent to 38.8 percent). Trone, the owner of Total Wine and More, personally financed this race, spending nearly $15 million after spending a like amount in the 2016 congressional District 8 race and losing to Jamie Raskin. Trone, who was diagnosed with cancer during the election, will succeed incumbent John Delaney (D) who announced he was not running for re-election and is running for president in 2020. Incumbent District 8 representative Jamie Raskin (D) beat John Walsh (R) (67.3 percent to 31.1 percent).

In the state of Maryland, voters elect 141 state delegates and 47 state senators. Montgomery County voters cast ballots for eight senators and 24 delegates. All of these winners were Democrats. Interestingly, Sara Love (D) who won one of the District 16 state delegate positions was behind by 37 votes to Samir Paul after primary election day. Love would win with the absentee and provisional count that followed to move on to the general election.

In the nonpartisan Board of Education contests, voters elected four members to the board. In the at-large race, Karla Silvestra (137,478 – 50.8 percent) beat Julie Reiley (130,918 – 48.4 percent). In District 1, Judy Docca (130,873 – 50.5 percent) beat Maria Blaeuer (126,472 – 48.8 percent). In District 3, Patricia O’Neill (168,865 – 63.2 percent) beat Lynn Amano (96,328 –
36.1 percent). In District 5, Brenda Wolff ran unopposed.